hypepopla.blogg.se

Twisted candyland characters
Twisted candyland characters







It's been a tough go, with the one-two punch of putting my constant companion 16 yr Koko to sleep (a civet-like Siamese), followed three days later by my father's death.these past 2 weeks have been surreal. Plus I ALWAYS think I'm making a TUESDAY puzzle (once again, five themes, words like MADAMA, ITALIA, AKIRA, XANAX, UTNE) yet le ROI always publishes them on Monday!Īnyway, despite the one thinking you are all sucking up, I wildly appreciate the positive comments. I don't even remember when I submitted this, so when I solved it last night, I too put in YOUR and would have screamed bloody hell, till I noticed the name of the constructor! )Īlso, I'll have to dig up the original, but I doubt I can take credit for the definition of THE Y, as I'm not that clever! (Fudge, mmmmmmm) with fingers crossed that I was sort of describing the slogan, not quoting it.īut maybe I should have put "Like buttah!" or something. and a dozen other constrictions, I finally "fudged" the answer and made it ONES With five theme answers, and having the vowels have to be in order, etc. Yes, yes, of course I tried MELTINYOURMOUTH when constructing and could NOT get the crosses to work. Either that or I'm a complete and total moral degenerate. Urban slang has entirely hijacked the meaning of this word. Not sure how you can do crosswords regularly and not have more than a casual acquaintance with this Oh dear, please don't use the word sploosh in that context. I was really surprised last week when more than a few commentators mentioned they had never heard of him. They melt in one's mouth, not in one's hand." Ha, I think I like this better than the original. Imagine the Queen Mum saying "Yes, I just adore M&Ms. I got a chuckle from my error because it makes me reimagine the M&Ms slogan as if it were written for the British aristocracy. Stubbornly kept YOUR in place until the end of the solve too. Hand up for the MELTS IN YOUR MOUTH error. Also, is there any difference in this context between ANTENNA and AERIAL?įorgot to look at the name of the constructor when I started, but I wasn't 1/3 of the way through before I knew it was an ACME puzzle.

#Twisted candyland characters tv

  • 44D: Pre-cable TV adjunct ( AERIAL) - "adjunct" threw me slightly, for reasons I don't quite understand.
  • But UTNE is a solid, if crosswordy, choice.
  • 27D: _ Reader (eclectic bimonthly) ( UTNE) - not much you can do with a U-E set-up (which the theme answer arrangement puts in place).
  • I think I've been conditioned by GAS-X and MAALOX.
  • 55A: Antianxiety drug with a palindromic name ( XANAX) - always strikes me as a name better suited to an anti-gas drug.
  • 17A: Jamie Foxx's "Yep _ Me" (" DAT'S") - again, very un-Andreaesque, this kind of non-word.
  • 5A: WWW letters ( HTML) - one of those either/or clues: is it HTML or HTTP?.
  • Normally don't have to deal with detritus like CIS, MELO, and ABAA in Andrea's grids, but again, I think the tradeoff - theme density and Scrabbly letters - is worth it. for "home." "Phone number" part just confused me. Somehow couldn't process what the clue was asking for, and the cross just didn't help at first - clue on RES.
  • 56A: The "3" in "6 x 3 = 18" ( MULTIPLIER) - ugh, I tripped over the final letter.
  • we live very close to Hershey, PA, but have never been.
  • 50A: Hershey's vatful ( MOLTEN CHOCOLATE) - I assume this refers to some imagined vat at their factory.
  • 37A: Company that produced Twister and Candy Land ( MILTON BRADLEY).
  • 23A: What M&M's do ( MELT IN ONE'S MOUTH).
  • but maybe in some bygone era this phrase was totally normal for the "fountain treat" in question. " MALTED MILK" appears to be some kind of powder.
  • 18A: Fountain treat ( MALTED MILK) - I don't know that I've heard this phrase.
  • Still, this glitch did LITTLE ( 3D: Wee) to diminish my enjoyment of the puzzle as a whole. I'm happy to have constructors fudge the ONE'S/YOUR distinction generally, but in the case of a direct quotation, not so much. Lastly, I was mildly UPSET ( 4D: Overturn) with MELT IN ONE'S MOUTH, since that phrase is taken directly from M&Ms' slogan, and thus (in my mind) should be quoted perfectly, i.e. Slight feeling of repetition and redundancy. Then there was the fact that two of the M-LT words were very nearly synonyms of one another (MELTING, MOLTEN), with both words having chocolaty contexts. First, it seemed like its theme was sweets-60% of the answers either are or refer to sugary treats. There were some weird things about this puzzle. My time was pretty average for a Monday, but I felt like I was working somewhat harder than I normally have to on a Monday - not a bad thing. This one felt slightly thornier than her usually offerings, perhaps because she went with a 76- rather than a more typical (for a Monday) 78-word grid while also throwing down some high-value Scrabble tiles. A bouncy little Monday puzzle from the Other Divine Miss M.







    Twisted candyland characters